3rd Annual Community Excellence Awards – Nominees and Winners

By October 29, 2021Events, Ward 1

I would like to thank you all who were able to join us virtually for the 3rd Annual Community Excellence Awards.

I would also like to thank those who took the time to nominate someone and for those accepting the nominations.

We received an overwhelming number of nominations this year – over 100 nominations!

It is a true testament of how wonderful our residents and businesses are in Ward 1.


Below is a list of all nominees and winners:

Automotive Services Excellence Award

This Award honours an Automotive services establishment with outstanding service, provided to Ward 1 residents with consistent high standards and integrity.


Blue Sky Automotive Servies Inc.

Xtreme Tire Garage

Lakeshore Auto Clinic

Autotex Service Centre Ltd.

Carwin Service Centre – Nick Gerasolo and Manny Tassone

Lakefront Motors
Winner: Carwin Service Centre – Nick Gerasolo and Manny Tassone


Excellence in Customer Service Award

This Award recognizes a business for their outstanding dedication, loyalty and achievement to exceptional service standards in our community that consistently exceed customer or guest expectations.


Dogtopia of Applewood

Hooper’s Pharmacy

My Secret Kitchen

Jim Chu

Carl’s Pharmacy

Christopher and Lesa Doyle

Tony Iantorno

Winner: Tony Iantorno of Applewood COBS Bread Bakery


Best Pizza Shop Award

Recognizing a local pizza shop – takeout or delivery that provides the best tasting pizza and customer experience.


Pizzeria Rosso – Frank Mazzaonetto

Doughboys Port Credit

Winner: Dougboys Port Credit


Best Coffee Shop Award

This award recognizes a coffee shop in Ward 1 that has a loyal following that provides great quality coffee, tea and snacks. It also creates a clean memorable atmosphere that keeps customers coming back for more.


Fair Grounds Coffee – Jeffrey Stinson

Back Road Coffee – Alex Derochers

Capital B Café

Winner: Jeffrey Stinson of Fair Grounds Coffee


Best Patio Dining Experience Award

The best patio dining experience award is presented to a restaurant that has created a patio that provides the most enjoyable overall guest experience, setting high standards for food quality, while providing guests with excellent customer service that enhances the dining experience. This local favourite provides an opportunity to relax and enjoy a delicious meal and a great atmosphere.


Thyme Ristorante

Snug Harbour Seafood Bar and Grill

The Crooked Cue

Spice Lounge and Tapas

Winner: Spice Lounge and Tapas


Best Restaurant/Take Out of the Year Award

The best casual dining or takeout restaurant award is presented to a restaurant that provides the most enjoyable overall guest experience, setting high standards for food quality, offers a well-priced meal, while providing guests with excellent customer service that enhances the dining experience. This local favourite provides an opportunity to relax and enjoy a delicious meal in a great atmosphere or at home.


My Secret Kitchen

Bobby’s Hideaway

Winner: Robert Turpin of Bobby’s Hideaway


New Business Award

The recipient of this award has been in business for a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years. This award recognizes outstanding achievement as a new business in some or all of the following: Research & Development, Company Growth, Products & Services, Market Development, Sales & Marketing, Community Service.


Jennifer Ellis – Mommy Connections Mississauga

Stonehooker Brewing Co.

Inner Beach Co.

Emily Miszk – Port Credit Mortgages

Grace Manicone – Amazing Graze

Sacha Gendron – Revive and Thrive

Sadaf Giyahi – Pharmasave

Winner: Grace Manicone of Amazing Graze


Entrepreneur of the Year Award

This award recognizes the endeavors of an exceptional individual or company who creates the products and services that keep our local economies moving forward.


Michael Perrault

Sidney Gendron aka Sawmill Sid

Christopher and  Lesa Doyle – Martial Arts Academy of Port Credit

Lydia Ordonez-Niles  – Impressionable Gifts and Décor

Sacha Gendron  – Revive and Thrive

Winner: Lydia Ordonez-Niles of Impressionable Gifts and Decor


Environmental Stewardship Award

Whether helping to help protect our climate, reduce waste, support local food or enhance our natural spaces, this individual is recognized as an environmental leader who has made significant contributions to improving our environment.


Donna Evans and Judy Smith

Sidney Gendron aka Sawmill Sid

Bill Milne of Alex Milne Associates

Winner: Sawmill Sid


Artist of The Year Award

The Ward 1 Artist of the Year Award recognizes individuals or leaders who attain a level of merit in their artistic discipline and celebrate outstanding works of creativity while providing pleasure and enjoyment to the community.


Valerie Barton

Lynn Taylor

Stephen Uhraney

Frog in Hand (Arts Organization)

Sidney Gendron

Frank Bailey

Tom Barlow

Port Credit BIA – STEPS Initiative

Winner: Frog in Hand (Arts Organization)


Community Leadership Award

This Award recognizes an Individual or Group for selflessly undertaking philanthropic activities and/or providing community service, for the betterment of their community and world around them.


Rea Lingo-Santaguida

Earl Driver

Heather Snell

Cindy Wilding

Russ Graham

Jacques Deblois

Lauren Kim

Christopher and Lesa Doyle

Frank Iorio

Deborah Goss

Lydia Ordonez-Niles, Impressionable Gifts and Décor

Louis Manzo

The Compass

Antoine Musiol

Jake Pedler and the BIA Team

Winner: Antoine Musiol


Volunteer of the Year Award

Our city is built by those who give their time and expertise selflessly and expect nothing in return. This award recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in volunteering to make Ward 1 a better place to live, work, and play.


Earl Driver

Jill Hollingsworth

Dave Voyce

Slavica Bissylas

Olga Gray

Barry Gilbert

Jesse Life

Winner: Earl Driver (The Compass)


Frontline Hero Award

This Award recognizes a group of individuals, businesses and organizations that have contributed to the community in a fundamental way during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Winner: Trillium Hospital, Mississauga


Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award

This Award will be presented occasionally to a citizen of Mississauga whose contribution over years of service has provided exceptional benefit to the residents of Ward 1.


Tony Zapparoli

Mark Scheerle

Winner: Tony Zapparoli


Lifetime Achievement Award

Ward 1 would like to honour with great respect and admiration, an Individual for their lifetime of support, promotion and vision for our community.


Tony Jasinski

Frank Bailey

Lou Macerola

Gordon Hatten

Winner: Tony Jasinski